There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Longing for Simplicity December 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 5:07 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you ever long for a simpler life only to have it elude you?  There are days when I think my life IS simple.  I mean, we don’t have cable television, internet, or even a “land-line” at home.  We own one cell phone and it’s JUST a phone.  No camera, no “i”-thingy…just dial and converse.  But just because you live a life absent of technology doesn’t mean your living a “simple” life.  Then I wonder, is there even any such thing?

What is a simple life anyway?  Does it sound boring to you?  I confess that there are days when yes, I think it sounds boring and I think it sounds absolutely fantastic!  Less laundry, less dishes, less clutter, less noise, less stress.  What’s not to like?

With our family of five (consisting mostly of those age three and under) I’m always up to my ears in laundry.  Each of my kids probably has more clothes than me and my husband combined (and they are unquestionably better dressed!).  So naturally I think, “OK, this is ridiculous!  Sadie doesn’t need all these things.  We are keeping only enough outfits for a week of wearing and getting rid of everything else!”  But the “everything else” she has is so cute and she looks like such a doll in all of it!  How can I part with that?  Then we’re back to square one.  Laundry…still a problem.

And what of the dishes?  Have you ever said, “This is your cup for the day.  If you want a drink later, you better keep up with your cup!”  I don’t know about your little ones but mine can lose a cup in ten seconds or less…but where do they go?!  Of course, they are also thirsty every 15 minutes of every day…particularly at bedtime (but that’s another story).  My point is I get tired of doing dishes!  So I think, if there are fewer dishes, I won’t have as many to wash.  The problem is I’m what you’d call a “wanna-be-chef-extraordinaire” coupled with a “wanna-be-hostess with the mostest”.  I’ve got all kinds of kitchen gadgets…and stoneware (don’t get me started on the stoneware!)…among other things.  We even have china that has never come out of the box!…ever!…and we’ve been married for over 5 years!  (And you are crazy if you think I’m taking it out of the box now!  Jo-jo just broke an ornament this morning.  I’m not risking my good naked china to a 2 year old’s imagination.)  So the long and short of it is, there’s plenty of things in the kitchen I don’t use.  I just can’t get rid of any of it.  Kitchen…strike two.

Toys.  Need I say more?  See if this sounds familiar…I pick up all the toys in the living room (aka. LR) and put them in the toy chest.  Vaccuum.  Proceed to kitchen to tackle dishes when kids wake from nap.  Send them (kids, not dishes) to LR while I load the beast (aka. dishwasher).  Five to ten minutes later, the toy chest has vomitted all over my living room floor.  Kids run from the Beast (that would be me…losing my temper…again).  Easy solution:  Fewer toys=Beast.  Have you ever weeded through your kids toys?  Does it seem to you like they multiply?  Is there a mouse in my house trading toys for sippee cups?  Curious.  Puzzling.  And that toy over there, I know I got rid of it last week!  How did it get here?  From whence did it come?!

Yes, simplicity eludes me.  You know, I don’t really think it exists.  Atleast, not in the way we typically mean.  To me, “simple” implies easy, worry-free, problem-free.  Who in the world doesn’t have any problems?  My guess is they’re either in a stupor (there’s a problem!) or they’re not really living (another problem).  Life is messy.  So if my house is in any way reflective of my life, then I must be really living!  What does your house say about you?  Mine says, “We live here!”

 

4 Responses to “Longing for Simplicity”

  1. Heather Says:

    hahaha….I’ve been there, I am still there on days……

    There are some major difficulties in having children so closely spaced (mine are 18 months apart), but so many joys…..they love to play the same type things, outings are easy to plan because they keep similar schedules (sleeping/eating). They are each other’s best friends.

    And….despite the fact that I may not consider my life simple, I think we keep it simple for the girls. Simple and deliberate. They know what to expect….every meal, every bedtime, every Sunday morning and every trip we take to visit family. If you are outside looking in, you would know what we value (and what we don’t value). I just pray and try to keep our life reflecting our values and I think we’ll be okay.

    Thanks for the blog…helps remind me to reflect on the important things in this busy pre-Christmas week. I’ll pray for your sanity too!!

    • stephaniesings Says:

      Thanks, Heather! It’s nice to know there are others out there facing the same challenges. Routine for us doesn’t run like clockwork but we try to atleast keep an order to things…lunch, nap, playtime, dinner, bedtime, etc. One of my new year’s resolutions is to be better about a steady routine. Thanks for reminding me to be deliberate and thanks for looking at my blog! I hope we can see each other again sometime soon. I’d love to meet your girls. Tell Jaime we said hello.

  2. Robyn Says:

    Stephanie,

    How neat to see this. I don’t even remember what links I followed to get here, but I love your blog. I had no idea how witty and funny you are. Would you consider writing a column or article for the newsletter? Let’s talk more at MOPS–and not just about whether you’d be interested in contributing to the newsletter. Thanks for sharing and making smile.

    Robyn

  3. justin Says:

    How funny, babe! You truly are a great writer!


Leave a Reply

