There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Are you a chicken? January 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 12:12 am

Ever felt unappreciated?  Overlooked?  I guess I’m getting over the shock of the chicken now (for clarification, read the last post) and I’m finding some similarities between us.  (Here’s some of that life application I owe you, I guess.)  I think many of us have found ourselves in the chicken’s uhhh…feathers at one time or another.  We’re riding along with all our friends and/or family and then, boom.  We fall off the truck.  Into oncoming traffic.  Maybe you’ve just reached your limit of what you are capable of doing in 24 hours and it all comes to a screeching halt unexpectedly, maybe you don’t feel like you fit in or you’ve lost your way.  Maybe you’ve been betrayed by someone you thought was your friend.  Whatever it is, you are stuck in the road now in desperate need of rescuing.  What do you do? 

Like the chicken, many times the easiest thing to do is nothing.  Don’t try to move.  It takes too much energy to move.  I’ll just stay right here and that way I’ll avoid falling off the truck again.  But we all know what eventually happens if you don’t get out of the road, right?  A truck finds you and suddenly falling off again rather than finding yourself underneath one is much more appealing.  Sadly, by then it might be too late.

I’ve been there.  Honestly, I kind of feel like I’ve fallen off the truck and I’m in the road right now but this time I’m not a chicken.  I KNOW the danger of staying still.  It’s NOT safe.  That is a lie.  Granted, moving is a big risk.  You might still get hit but atleast you’re going somewhere…doing something.  You are making something happen rather than letting something happen to you.  It’s tiresome, though.  Sometimes the only peace and rest you feel like you get is when you fall off the truck.  Don’t be fooled.  That’s not peace and rest.  That’s suicide.

It may be hard to see right now, but I bet there’s a reason you fell off that truck.  In the chicken’s case, her truck was leading to certain death.  Where was your truck headed?  When you are used to being caged, the open road can be pretty scary.  But think about how much adventure could be waiting for you out there.  It’s easy to long for the truck.  That’s familiar.  Look forward to what lies ahead and when you find yourself in the middle of oncoming traffic, GET OUT OF THE ROAD!

 

One Response to “Are you a chicken?”

  1. justin Says:

    I have to say it again: YOU ARE AN AWESOME WRITER, HONEY!!!


Leave a Reply

