There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How can I be bored when there is so much to do? March 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 5:09 am

This is truly a weird feeling.  I have so much that needs to get done and yet, I’m incredibly bored.  The obvious answer is that everything I need to do is boring.  But not all of it is.  I think I’m just at the point where I’m so overwhelmed by my “to-do” list that now I’m not “doing” anything.  I’m tired.  No matter how long I spend on it, my list doesn’t seem to be getting any shorter.  I cross one thing off only to remember two more things to write in its place.  It’s maddening and never ending!  Someone save me!  🙂

We talked in my MOPS group last week about the importance of asking for help when you need it.  The ironic thing is that I had already decided before I went that I needed to ask for help.  I’ve never been really good at asking for help.  It’s a pride thing.  I don’t want to inconvenience anyone but even more than that, I don’t want them seeing what a poor housekeeper I am because they might think less of me…or my family.  The truth is, though, that I can’t do it on my own.  My husband helps but even between the two of us we have more than we can handle.  And many of you may be thinking, “Well, if it’s that bad, Stephanie, get off the computer and get to work!”  I hear you.  I’m stuck in a rut right now, though.  I’m discouraged by the rising pile of dirty clothes in the laundry room, the stacks of dirty dishes in the kitchen, the toys strewn across my living room floor, and the fact that I work my tail off every day only to see little to no difference at all in the state of things.

There are so many “projects” I have waiting to get done, but I can never get to them for having to continue all of the above chores.  Justin says our problem is we have too much stuff.  Yes, that is a big part of the problem but it’s definitely not all of it.  I’ve been getting rid of many things lately.  I can’t even put my finger on what else is contributing to our problem either.  I wish I knew.  Lack of time, resources, energy?  Three little tornadoes in my house who whip their wind and leave rubble in their wake?  Huh, I need a vacation.  Just thinking about all of this makes me tired.

Speaking of tired, it’s getting late so I’m gonna call it a night and try to start fresh tomorrow morning.  If I can keep the fire contained for now, I’ll eventually figure out a way to put it out!  Can anybody out there relate?  Any advice or words of wisdom?

 

3 Responses to “How can I be bored when there is so much to do?”

  1. K Says:

    You are not alone! I think most of us feel that way sometimes. Maybe you should add to your list some things that make YOU feel better. One item might be, “Take a 30 minute bubble bath” or “Spend a few minutes outside at night, enjoying the quiet” or “fill out one of those silly Facebook notes”. I’m not very good at doing stuff like this myself, but girl, you need it right now! One thing I actually do is put very tiny things on my list. Like “unload the dishwasher” or “start a load of laundry”. It makes my list a little longer but I get to cross things off more, which keeps me motivated.

  2. danieljtomlinson Says:

    Have you been reading my mind? I think it’s impossible to get everything done. There are those that can, but what are they sacrificing?

    If the grass is greener on the other side of the fence than his water bill is higher!

    I’m not saying don’t make changes, but damn, male or female, we aren’t superheros! We do have to sleep, eat and care for those precious kiddos!

    I love your blog Steph!


Leave a Reply

