There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Next Chapter March 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 9:47 pm

It’s now begun.  My husband is officially no longer a youth minister.  We’d hoped he’d have a job before the end came but c’est la vie.  We’ll be attending a new church tonight.  It’ll be only the second time in our marriage that we’ve had to look for a new church home even though we’ve moved four times in 5 1/2 years.  Really I don’t think our search will take very long though.  We have already mostly decided where we’ll go.  I think it’s more a function of adjusting.  Justin and I will get by.  It’s the kids we’re concerned about.  At some point I think they will miss our former church “family” and when that day comes, how do we comfort them?  We’re trying to make it easier for them by attending a place that is already somewhat familiar.  They have day school there once a week and really seem to enjoy themselves.  The church also has a much more involved and active children’s ministry so that’s pretty exciting.

We’ve been thinking more and more about staying in Gravette.  We really feel like there is a need here that we could fill.  We’ve been praying about it and I’d like to ask you to pray for us too.  For the moment we just want some kind of job.  We’ve even talked about starting a home business!  That sounds really fun to me!  (OK, “fun” is a bit optimistic.  It will be alot of hard work too, I know.)  Anyway, the next chapter is upon us and we’re anxious with anticipation at what the LORD has in store!  Thanks to all of you who have offered encouragement and support during this trying time.  We greatly appreciate it and please, keep praying!  🙂

 

7 Responses to “The Next Chapter”

  1. Jennifer Messier Says:

    My husband is in ministry as well. I can completely understand your fears about your little ones but thankfully God gave children such resilience. He took a new position as Associate Pastor back in October and so we’re in that “getting adjusted while missing old friends” stage. It will pass and I’ve learned that a lot of how they react is so tied to how you react and roll with the punches. I will definitely be praying for you as a fellow sister on the minister’s wife journey. Let me know if there is anything specific you are praying for!!

    • stephaniesings Says:

      Thanks Jennifer. I had no idea Jacques was in ministry. That’s cool. We’ll have to chat soon. Thanks for praying and taking time out of your day to comment on my blog. God bless! 🙂

  2. Wendy Says:

    I will but you adn your family on my prayer list. Just trust in GOD and he will lead you in the path that he wants you to go down.

    Wendy

  3. danieljtomlinson Says:

    I have no idea what happened in your situation, and I don’t want to know because I know the pain all too well. I do know that I’m thankful I am where I am now, and it’s been a journey marked by my own sins and the sins of others against me. In every last situation that streams through my melodramatic brain God whispers forgiveness, grace and love. All three of them have been difficult to learn, and I have a long way to go, but thank God I don’t have to contemplate any of that because my Lord is closer than the blood in my veins, and he is constantly telling me to trust him.

    I cannot thank him enough for that. His dear presence overwhelms me in a marvelous way because I know that in life or in death I will never be separated from him. He never leaves me. He never quits on me. He never fires me. He is constantly pulling for me when whatever demon I fight digs its talons deep into my central nervous system.

    God has not given me a spirit of timidity and of fear, but a spirit of power, love and self-control.

    I’m praying for you Steph.

  4. Courtney Says:

    I hope you guys do stay in Gravette!

    • stephaniesings Says:

      Maybe so. We look forward to seeing you and Shannon when you get back from your trip. I’m so jealous! 🙂


Leave a Reply

