There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Tea Party April 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 12:52 am

Our family attended our first “protest” yesterday.  It felt good to stand up and let our voices be heard.  It was very encouraging to see so many like us joining together and doing the same thing.  I was excited thinking about all the people around the nation who were also “having tea” in their own hometowns.  

At first we were hesitant to go on a Wednesday (church night) because we want our kids to know we value Christian community and make it a priority. We want them to grow up strong in their faith and with a deep love for God and His Son. We want them to know the difference between right and wrong and to stand up for truth even when it’s hard and you’re left all alone. We came to realize, though, that what our government is doing raises serious moral questions (theft, murder, corruption, greed) and our kids are counting on us to set an example for them.   As Christians, we felt compelled to take a stand against this kind of behavior (bailouts, excessive taxation of the “wealthy”, abortion, poor stewardship, etc.) and to do our best to protect our children’s futures.  We will continue to do so and to instill Christian values and principles into their lives…even if in so doing we are labeled “radical right wings”.  If being a Christian in a Christian nation is radical, there is something seriously backwards in our country.  Backwards or not, if being radical means I’m pro-life, anti-bailout, and pro-“free market-government-get-the-heck-out-of-my-business” then sign me up!  And don’t tell me I don’t care about poor people.  I’ll do whatever I can to help someone who wants to help themselves but I don’t need the government’s “help” to do it.  And neither do you.  Let’s tell Washington to get out of our pocketbooks!  Anymore “radical rights” out there?

Just out of curiosity, how many of you attended a tea party yesterday?  I’d love your comments.

Oh!  And by the way, we still made it to church on time.  🙂

 

8 Responses to “Tea Party”

  1. Elsa Says:

    Way to go Stephanie! I didn’t get to a tea party, I am bummed that I missed out on letting my own voice be heard in unison with other intelligent voices like your own. I keep wondering when our “cup of wickedness” will be full enough that the Lord will raise up another nation to bring us to our knees and back to Him. While we were in China someone told us they knew why America was so rich. We were of course curious, and asked them why. They said “because you have God’s name on your money so He blesses it.” Simple, maybe a little skewed, but their response made an impression on me that I will not soon forget. Thanks for your heartfelt blogs! Love In Him, Elsa

    • stephaniesings Says:

      It’s so good to hear from you, Elsa. Let’s hope America wakes up before that “cup of wickedness” is full.

  2. Keri Higgins Lanford Says:

    I am so glad to hear your thoughts. These current fiscal issues have really got me in a tizzy. I cannot believe the depths that our government has gone. Do you support the fair tax? I like that it is revenue neutral as opposed to our current progressive tax system. It is also great to hear that you are so tied into your faith. I can’t make it one day without God. Where was your tea party?

    • stephaniesings Says:

      Our tea party was in Bentonville, AR on the square. It wasn’t listed on the teaparty website so who knows how many more there were around the country. Thanks for your comments….and that goes for everyone!!

  3. Bob Gifford Says:

    If you and your family are so opposed to rampant government spending, please explain where and when you were protesting during the Bush administration…

    Bush was handed a budget surplus in his first year, and he destroyed the government’s infrastructure through his rampant war spending. Bush took a surplus and gave us a 500 billion dollar a year deficit.

    Where was your outrage for that? Huh? These people who attended Tea Parties as nothing more than tools for the Fox Network, because if they were really fiscal conservatives, they would have protested Bush out of office. But they didn’t. They’re simply bigots who don’t like Democrats in power. Where are the REAL fiscal conservatives who will protest ANYBODY who oversteps the federal bounds, not just the Democrats???

    • stephaniesings Says:

      Bob, I’m sorry if your first post was deleted. I honestly never saw it. Whether or not it was ever received by me or not I can’t say but I would not have deleted it intentionally so my apologies if that happened.
      As for your comments about the Bush administration’s spending, I did not approve of that either. I am not partisan in my outrage against rampant government spending. However, having said that, if you will recall, 9/11 happened in Bush’s first year and if we were going to spend government money on anything, I applaud spending it on a war effort to protect the citizens of our country against further attack. Did he go overboard? I’ll grant that perhaps he did, but I personally do not believe that Bush is solely responsible for “destroying the government’s infrastructure”. He certainly did not do it alone. What about the sub-prime mortgage crisis, failing of Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac? Is that solely his responsibility too? What about pork barrel spending and earmarks? Both Republicans and Democrats are responsible for that.
      I did not go to this Tea Party to protest Democrats. I went to protest, to use your words, the overstepping of the federal bounds. I did not go in response to or as a “tool for the Fox Network”. I’m a mother who cares about the future of my children and in my own opinion (not one that I’m just regurgitating or been brainwashed into believing), our current administration’s spending habits are killing our economy…not helping. The money they are spending isn’t even going where they say it is. Tell me what kind of sense does it make for the government to spend more if our economy is so dire? For me this is more of an ethical issue. We are punishing those who have been responsible and hardworking and forcing them to pay for others’ mistakes and overspending. That’s stealing. What are we teaching our kids about fiscal responsibility? Why are so many people looking for the government to fix all their problems? Government is the problem, not the solution.
      I’m running out of time right now so I’ll have to try to finish a response at a later date. Perhaps I’ll write another post soon to address more of these issues in detail. Obviously we disagree about the direction our country needs to take, but one of the great things about this country is having the freedom to do so. Let’s do everything we can to keep that freedom, protect it, and not resort to name calling and finger pointing. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

  4. Bob Gifford Says:

    Why was my post deleted?

    I would like an answer to my question… where were the protests to Bush’s rampant government spending? I fail to see how this is an unfair question.

    Those of us who are REAL conservatives protest both Democrats AND Republicans who run amuck with the budget.

  5. K Says:

    Bob says, “Those of us who are REAL conservatives protest both Democrats AND Republicans who run amuck with the budget” yet he condemns you as a “bigot who doesn’t like Democrats in power” since you protested gov’t spending? Doesn’t make much sense to me. I certainly understand his outrage at some of Bush’s policies, but I don’t understand why he is outraged over our differences instead of celebrating our common ground. At this point, whether we supported Bush or not, we should all be concerned about gov’t spending.

    Also, not liking democrats in power does NOT make you a bigot. What a hateful word to throw around! We have a two-party system because people tend to align with one party the other. There is no shame in that, although we should look at the politicians views on the issues versus choosing them based on party alone.


Leave a Reply

