There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Washer Woes May 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 6:51 pm

Well, our washing machine has been out of commission for a couple of weeks now which means we’ve been relying heavily on friends to keep us in clean clothes.  This is a daunting task given a family of five, three of whom are each prone to mess up a week’s worth of outfits in one day.  I’m continually amazed at how fast the laundry piles up…and just in case you were wondering, I’m not the kind of mother to change my kids’ clothes every time there’s a slight mishap.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but that’s just not me.  It doesn’t bother me anymore for the boys to have a few grass stains on their jeans or a dabble of peanut butter or jelly on their shirt if it means there’s one or two less loads to wash.  Time is a precious commodity in my house, as I’m sure many of you can relate.

But as is often the case, it seems that whenever something breaks is when you happen to “need” it the most.  Shortly after the washer broke, Josiah got car sick which, of course, meant not only dirty clothes, but a dirty carseat as well.  How many moms out there enjoy washing your kids’ carseat covers even with a working machine?  … That’s what I thought.  So, you can understand the frustration I felt.  I think God is trying to teach me more patience.  In all honesty, I thought I had lots of patience…some to spare even.  Alas, lesson learned.  Never think you have enough patience.  Lesson two, appreciate every convenience for it is a privilege, not a right.

Hopefully our machine will be operational by Saturday.  In the meantime (and hopefully even after it’s fixed) I’ll thank the LORD that I have a washer at home and the means to fix it.  I’ll thank the LORD that my son only suffered car sickness and hadn’t contracted swine flu or some other life threatening illness.  I’ll thank the LORD that the “sacrifices” I’ve had to make these past two weeks weren’t really sacrifices at all.  I’ll thank the LORD for the opportunity to learn that lesson and I’ll thank the LORD for the wonderful friends He has blessed me with to help me in my time of need.  Thanks to all of you!  May God bless you and draw you closer to HIM today and every day.

 

Leave a Reply

