There's more to me than "Mommy"…but not by much!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Am I THAT mom?? February 3, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — stephaniesings @ 3:15 pm

Don’t you just love it when you finally break down and take all 3 of your children (one school-aged) to the doctor (after a long night involving lots of coughing, hacking, and just plain misery) where they proceed to act like it’s the 4th of July and make YOU look like THAT mom??  Yes, you know the one.  The one who rushes their little darling to the clinic after even the slightest sniffle, the one who insists that every strand of hair is blow-dried before walking around anywhere… even inside…even if it’s 80 degrees and the sun is shining brightly in the sky.  I picture her with hand sanitizing gel at the ready and her finger on the trigger of a lysol can poised for the next germ invasion.  There are many things to admire about her.  She’s prepared.  She’s protecting her children at all costs.  But I don’t want to be THAT mom.  She’s weird.  She’s germophobic.  She’s way too uptight.  AND she needs to take a chill pill.

Honestly, I KNOW I’m not that mom.  Anyone who knows me KNOWS there’s no way in the world I could be.  My kids run around barefoot the majority of the time, preferring to wear their shoes sock-less if they must be worn at all.  More often than not, at least one (most likely all) of them has dirt on their face, hands, or other extremity.

I just don’t want other “strangers” thinking I’m that mom, particularly those in the medical community.  Why does it matter, you ask?  I’ve been asking myself the same question and I guess the reason is because she doesn’t seem to be taken seriously.  If I think something’s wrong with my child, I want to be taken seriously and not brushed off with “Well, here’s a Rx and call us in 7 days if there are any more problems.”

I’m hypersensitive on this subject today, I’ll admit.  That’s because after enduring a night with little rest and wellness, then taking the kids to the doctor to ensure MORE rest and wellness, we experienced LESS rest and wellness last night.  Did our children have temperatures before or during their visit?  No.  Did they have temperatures after their visit?  Why, yes!  Go figure.

So, now I’m worrying about my oldest who missed school yesterday when he was acting like he felt fine (other than a cough) and who, NOW, after having a temperature over 103 last night is back at school today.  I hate compulsory school attendance.  I really do.

 

Leave a Reply

